Skip to content
News, Statements

Political Heavyweights Join Americans United for Life for its 40th Anniversary Gala

Honorary Co-Chairs Texas Governor Rick Perry, U. S. House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, and U.S. Senator Jeff Sessions lead a stellar list of Honorary Hosts for an historic event.

WASHINGTON, D.C. (08-15-11) – National leaders and political luminaries will join together in November to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Americans United for Life — the nation’s premier pro-life legal team and the country’s first national pro-life organization — incorporated in 1971 before the infamous Roe v. Wade Supreme Court decision. The high profile event is already marked by an impressive list of pro-life leaders serving as honorary hosts of the much-anticipated evening.

AUL President and CEO Dr. Charmaine Yoest noted that the anniversary gala would mark the “accumulated pro-life victories AUL has earned through years of public service and the people who made them possible.”

Milestones for AUL include: successfully defending the Hyde Amendment before the U.S. Supreme Court, establishing the intellectual groundwork for Fetal Homicide legislation now passed in 38 states, reducing abortions state by state through cutting-edge model legislation found in Defending Life (a catalogue of 39 pieces of model legislation), leading in the fight against assisted suicide, and testifying for life in state legislatures around the country and in the last two Supreme Court justice confirmation hearings. To read more about AUL’s accomplishments in recent media coverage, click here.

Details for attendance

What: AUL’s 40th Anniversary Gala

Where: The Newseum, Washington, D.C.

When: Wednesday, November 2, 2011

How to Register: Click here

Honorary Hosts for the event include


Senator Kelly Ayotte

Senator Roy Blunt

Senator Richard Burr

Senator Tom Coburn

Senator Jim DeMint

Senator Michael Enzi

Senator Lindsey Graham

Senator Chuck Grassley

Senator Orrin Hatch

Senator John Hoeven

Senator John McCain

Senator Rand Paul

Senator Marco Rubio

Senator Richard Shelby

Senator Roger Wicker


Congressman Robert Aderholt

Congressman Todd Akin

Congressman Steve Austria

Congresswoman Michele Bachmann

Congressman Dan Boren

Congressman Paul Broun

Congresswoman Ann Marie Buerkle

Congressman Dave Camp

Congressman Jerry Costello

Congresswoman Renee Ellmers

Congressman Blake Farenthold

Congresswoman Virginia Foxx

Congressman Trent Franks

Congressman Scott Garrett

Congressman Phil Gingrey

Congressman Louie Gohmert

Congressman Bob Goodlatte

Congresswoman Kay Granger

Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler

Congressman Joe Heck

Congressman Bill Huizenga

Congressman Randy Hultgren

Congressman Darrell Issa

Congressman Sam Johnson

Congressman Walter Jones

Congressman Adam Kinzinger

Congressman James Lankford

Congressman Tom Latham

Congressman Steven LaTourette

Congressman Daniel Lipinski

Congressman Billy Long

Congressman Frank Lucas

Congressman Blaine Luetkemeyer

Congressman Don Manzullo

Congressman Thaddeus McCotter

Congressman David McKinley

Congresswoman Candice Miller

Congressman Jeff Miller

Congressman Mick Mulvaney

Congressman Randy Neugebauer

Congressman Alan Nunnelee

Congressman Steve Pearce

Congressman Mike Pence

Congressman Collin Peterson

Congressman Tom Petri

Congressman Joe Pitts

Congressman Mike Pompeo

Congressman Ben Quayle

Congressman Denny Rehberg

Congresswoman Martha Roby

Congressman Mike Rogers

Congressman Todd Rokita

Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

Congressman Paul Ryan

Congressman Tim Scott

Congressman Chris Smith

Congressman Lamar Smith

Congressman Cliff Sterns

Congressman Lee Terry

Congressman Scott Tipton

Congressman Fred Upton

Congressman Allen West

Congressman Lynn Westmoreland